Social Orb

What is going on in the world of social interaction

Eye on Flickr: Blue Ribbon Photography Group

Flickr: Blue Ribbon Photography [Invited Images ONLY] {NEW CONTEST}

Young Fisheman by i b u

Uploaded on June 25, 2007
by i b u

This photo comes with a poem:

I was too young to take it all in. I was too young to even realize I was young. I was just living my life.
The old believe everything; the middle-aged suspect everything; the young know everything. And now I know how to catch FISH. 

 

The members of this group community seem very active here. One of the first that I have seen that really use the message forum feature on Flickr (use as in other members actually interact on the forum).

This group has over 11,000 members and over 50,000 pictures. Wow. That’s seems crazy to me. I never noticed that Flickr had such huge groups with such a huge number of pictures. I guess its gotten so hue that now people will be getting the boot if they don’t follow the rules:

From picture perfect13… IM IN EUROPE :NO MORE WARNINGS. Members who break BRP’s rules will now be BANNED.—There is now a 5 per day limit due to “spamming”…The next step is the submission moderator which will require an admin to approve each submission…We’d rather not do that but there are a lot of uninvited photos coming in. Please take part in the new HDR contest.

With a group this big, I guess you are going to get abusers somewhere AND put you at the point of frustration if your the group creator and admin.

Uploaded on June 24, 2007
by eliselovesprada

The pictures of this group are great, full of color and interesting views of everyday life. Since there is allot of interaction with members as well as the Flickr community in general,  I have to say that this is one of the best groups I have seen on Flickr so far.

I’ll be following this group from now on, mostly because many of the photos that get the Blue Ribbon have so many comments (well not allot, but much more than most Flickr photos). Since this blog is about how people interact with each other on the social web, I say, why not include single photos instead of just featuring groups.

Anyway, check them out. Plenty photos to look at. I already put about 5 in my favorites column.

June 26, 2007 - Posted by | Culture, Flickr, Lifestyle, Photography

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

