Social Orb

What is going on in the world of social interaction

Demo Day: Y Combinator’s Spring Chicks

Demo Day: Y Combinator’s Spring Chicks

Wow, I didn’t know Reddit came out of this! Later on I’m going to check out the other sites that popped out of Y. I already checked out Thinkature (very interesting name… wish I thought of it) and its focus on online collaberation.

The blog has 42 comments so far and on track back – JDsBlog (I guess it will have 2 now ha!).

  1. Alaska Miller

    A lot of these things are lame.

  2. JoshLowry

    Y combinator looks like they are making some wise investments.

    I wouldn’t give away 6% of my company for $5k. That would go pretty quick in my opinion. I guess with the money they made from reddit they are spending it on some new horses. Best of luck to those guys!

  3. Peter Cooper

    I love some of these names. They’re clear demonstrations that domain names are too cheap and anything even vaguely readable has already been poached. I love seeing the creativity people are throwing into names nowadays.

  4. Drama 2.0

    I don’t necessarily dislike the Y Combinator model, although from a founder’s standpoint the amount of equity you give up right off the bat is extremely expensive in the long run. Most founders don’t recognize that equity financing is the most expensive form of financing and while sometimes you have to give it up, doing so right at the outset like this has probably locked these startups into total reliance upon angels and/or VCs. Finding a way to bootstrap is always ideal in my opinion, especially when you’re talking about amounts this small.

    Reading the descriptions of this crop of Y Combinator startups I got the impression that quite a few of them are better described as features than they are as services. That’s not to say that features can’t be interesting or can’t evolve into more comprehensive services, but I only saw a few startups here that looked like they might be really compelling.

4 Comments that I thought were interesting. If your intoerested in the new generation of websites and what people think about it, you should take a read at the link above.

March 9, 2007 - Posted by | Blog Post Review, Business, Reddit, Tech

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Jim. Photos i received. Thanks

    Comment by Bill Compton | June 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

